Skip to content

Welcome to my world

September 14, 2009
by

Twitter is pretty cool, isn’t it? I think, Maz, you were my first follower!

So I am still trying to decide why I want to blog. Probably because I can’t shut my mouth, whether it’s talking or eating.

I live in America, where food is more about quantity rather than quality. Actually I probably didn’t realize food’s full potential until I went to Germany as an exchange student when I was seventeen. The family I stayed with lived in the middle of cherry country, and there was always a huge bowl of cherries on the counter. I was always pretty cool with cherries, but for some reason when my host mom gave me a bowl of cherries and quark, my mind was blown. That whole month was a feast of dining outside, mineral water, pizza with salami, dark chocolate, and bratwurst (not to mention my first experiences with alcohol…).

And then I spent this last year unemployed and bored. So bored. I needed a hobby, and I turned to cooking because it’s a good time-killer and generally not that expensive. Over the last year I’ve spent a lot of time chopping, stirring, baking, and becoming my family’s favorite person as there is always something yummy to eat. I’ve found that I enjoy food much more when I’m involved in the entire process, from gardening or shopping to preparation. It brings me a feeling of satisfaction and accomplishment in the midst of such an uncertain time in my life. And it’s a skill that will serve me well through life!

I’m wondering, Maz, if you have any food hangups, fears, or things you just won’t eat.

I used to be a pretty picky eater, and sometimes I still am. I don’t really like fish or mayonnaise. I stay away from sour cream after my dad tricked me into eating it by telling me it was whipped cream. I was four at the time, and I will never forget it. I also don’t like eggs, whether they are scrambled, poached, hard-boiled; however, I will gladly eat any kind of cookie or cake batter with raw egg in it, so I am not sure how that works. I think it is the sulfur smell. Also, can you believe I didn’t like cheeseburgers until a year ago?!

I’ve had no choice but to become more adventurous. Like I mentioned, I’ve studied in Germany several times. I’ve also spent some time in Russia. I love both Russian and German cuisine and I’m hoping we can explore them a bit more! This summer I was getting ready to move to South Korea so I forced myself to eat kimchi and like it (though I’m not moving there anymore). As a result, I will try anything once.

I do have a list of favorite foods. My absolute most favoritist food in the world is tomatoes. When I was a baby I would get into the garden and eat cherry tomatoes right off the vine, and I still do that! I love cheese too; feta is probably my favorite. Actually, I love dairy in general. If you saw me, you’d understand how big a problem it is. Some women are crazy about carbs like bread and pasta; not me though. My carb of choice is BEER! I like fresh fruits and vegetables too, and the crunchier the better. Texture is very important to me when I’m eating.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

