Skip to content

Why I decided to blog

September 14, 2009
by

Hi, I’m Maz. I’m 19 years old and studying sociology at university in London and I rather like to cook. I didn’t before, you see I come from a cultural background where cooking for a woman is necessary. I was always a rebel and never wanted to lift a finger in the kitchen. But that’s all changed, I wanted to learn how to cook, specifically sweet stuff. My sweet tooth is something and one day I wanted to make a brownie, just like that and I did and it was taaaasty.

I’ve been wanting to have my own food blog for a couple of months now. Okay, I decided during the summer holidays when the heady temperatures might affect your clear thinking, but now with the summer long gone (I live in London, remember) I still wanted to blog. I was mainly inspired by twitter, tennis and tastespotting, an odd triumvirate, I know. But here is my blog! Okay, it’s still very much in it’s early stages but I’m getting inspired to cook!

I’m very glad that I’ve decided to embark on this culinary and blogging adventure with another like-minded individual. This blog is totally 50/50 in terms of posts, recipes etc. I’m hoping that by having another person alongside me, it’ll give me the constant  kick up the arse to keep posting and cooking even if university assigments get me down!

Oh and the blog name is sort of a private tennis joke because Kristen and I first “met” on twitter discussing Dinara Safina (google her) and let’s just say a coconut is no longer an innocent, exotic fruit.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2009 19:30

    Oh, Dina ❤
    She's almost as kooky as Marat.. except for the fighting with coconuts bit. ❤

  2. camilia permalink
    September 17, 2009 08:02

    Congrats to both of you for starting the blog.
    I love the title 😉

Leave a Reply

