Skip to content

Earth to Maz

September 15, 2009
by

Oh was I? What a lovely honour it still is. And good question Kristen, I totally forgot to answer that!

Well the food I grew up with was mainly Russian and Afghan cuisine! Honestly, it makes for the best fusion cuisine out there! I should have this innate cultural chip on my shoulder about rice but the reality is, I can easily consume boiled rice that Brits looooove to boil in the bag without turning up my nose! I obviously have aunties and cousins who make the most fluffiest and tastiest rice you could ever dream to taste. So I have the best of both worlds, sort of!

I’ll start with what I hate. I hate mayonnaise, I never use it as a condiment. Ketchup rulez! I hate cold boiled eggs. I went to Paris recently and I bought a tuna sandwich and it had boiled eggs with that horrible green discolouration and it put me off immediately which was sad because the baguette and tuna were so yummy! I hate spicy food, I may be of Central Asian ethnicity but my threshold for hotness is rather European. I can have a small mediocre amount of hot chili sauce with my food which pleases me immensely when I get through it! But no to the fresh green chilis in my salad bowl (Yeah Mum, I’m calling you out!) I hate red meat, it reminds me too much of human flesh but if it’s ground then it’s a-okay! Ha! I don’t eat pork for obvious reasons. I hate shellfish and stuff like that so East Asian cuisine is sort of a no-go area for me. I also hate butter. For a long while I thought flora pro active spread was butter! What a ruse on the part of my mother! She’s turning out to be quite the sneakster in the kitchen. I only recently had actual butter on toast which I just hated. I prefer using butter in cooking sweet stuff and that’s it.I find cooking something in melted butter just wrong. At least my heart will be all the better for it πŸ˜‰ I also don’t like cream in savoury stuff. Dude, that stuff is made to be whipped up. I hate cheese. The only cheese I like is mild cheddar, red Leicester, mozzarella and cream cheese and cottage cheese. My main intake of dairy is milk and yoghurt. Home cultured thick and tangy yoghurt is the best thing on the planet.Β  Also Kefir, a close second. On to herbs, I hate mint and parsley. Mint should only exist in its artificial form, flavouring choc chip ice cream, you know? I hate the taste of parsley plus it’s always the one lone garnish on my plate of food when I eat out. I always push it to the side.

I love desserts, it’s what I always look forward to when I eat out. In fact if I got asked what my last meal would be, it’d be nearly all desserts! Which would unfortunately mean I’d eat one spoonful of rich luscious chocolate dessert and then vomit. Not a good way to die. My meat of choice will always be chicken. Oh God, I love chicken. The best dish I’ve ever had was my cousins’ Tajik plov (google it). Chicken and rice is the best combo in the world. I like fish, especially firm white fish.Β  I also love potatoes, great tasting potatoes. I also love spices. DUH! My biological make up is probably 20% cumin, coriander seeds, sumac etc.A large part of Afghan cuisine is centered around fruit and vegetables and nuts. Therefore I’m generally healthy. I tend to randomly snack on fiery pink radishes when they’re in my fridge. I eat ’em like apples! I also looooooooooove coriander. I think I love it to death. I eat whole bunchesΒ  when my mum is back from the market. There’s something about that taste that is so addictive, I can’t even get my head around it.

There’s always an abundance of watermelon, grapes and exotic fruit in my house. That reminds me there’s a fig in my kitchen waiting to be eaten!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristen permalink*
    September 15, 2009 16:00

    At first I was like, “Uhhh how does Maz know what human flesh is like?” and then remembered you used to study forensic science. So that question is answered.

    Did you know, in America coriander = cilantro? We use it a lot in Mexican dishes. I have never heard of someone being nuts about it, usually I hear from people how much they hate it. I like it though.

    • Maz permalink*
      September 15, 2009 16:38

      Ahh cilantro. I am really nuts about it, I feel like a content rabbit when I eat it πŸ˜›
      Can you imagine me saying cilantro, eggplant etc in my accent? Ha! Did you know arugula is called rocket over here, I think rocket >>>> arugula πŸ˜‰

      • Kristen permalink*
        September 15, 2009 17:36

        Yesss rocket FTW!
        I think it’s so funny how the names are different… aubergine, capsicum, coriander, bicarb of soda, icing sugar.

        My grandpa calls bell peppers/capsicums ‘mangos.’ I mean, people of that generation never knew what a real mango is until recently!

      • Maz permalink*
        September 15, 2009 19:31

        I’ve spent so much time reading American blogs that I sometimes say confectioners sugar instead of icing sugar!

        That’s so adorable of your granddad! I remember when my mum first bought an avocado home. Now that’s an exotic item of food. It’s certainly not native to the UK or where my parent’s come from. We hated it and didn’t buy one for a couple of years but now we’re mad about them!

  2. September 17, 2009 14:19

    OK, you officially need a glossary of American to British translations, I love hearing the different names for food items.

    • Maz permalink*
      September 17, 2009 15:00

      Good idea! I’ll scour the net and post it πŸ™‚

    • Kristen permalink*
      September 17, 2009 15:04

      http://www.cs.cmu.edu/~mbishop/engfood.html
      I love the different names too πŸ™‚
      I was a counselor for some teens from Northern Ireland and listening to their accents and all the different words was so fun! But now I say things like “wee” and call totally awesome people “ledgend” (the extra ‘d’ is apparently very important).

      • September 17, 2009 15:44

        Do they really call zucchini “courgette”? Some of these names are nuts! Like the British name for meatball… WTF? Nice link!

        • Maz permalink*
          September 17, 2009 16:08

          Woah woah woah! We still call meatballs, meatballs! The only people who call it that are from the Midlands and it has to contain offal. So not your regular meatballs to have with your spaghetti! πŸ˜€

  3. MiMiHotLips permalink
    September 18, 2009 18:49

    Oooh my god…

    You guys are great, posting the American and Britsh words for food etc..
    I saw it and was like wow.. Wow… wow… It’s so different and me being from Amsterdam, Holland, makes the confusion even bigger..

    So this should make it easier πŸ˜‰

    To be honest.. Even went to buy a red mixer (Kentwood Pattiesier) 2day lol.. (Don’t tell anyone hahaa)
    The blog really inspired me to get my ass cracking in the kitchen again like I used to..

    So keep on posting the recipes and if I find some Dutchie likey likey recipes I will tell ya..

    πŸ™‚

    • Maz permalink*
      September 19, 2009 06:41

      We’ll strive to make everything easier πŸ˜‰
      Oh wow, I really want to buy a new mixer, a good wood and I’ve just googled your choice and it looks brilliant! I’m gonna save up because these things are pricey and it should be a sound investment!

      So glad we’ve inspired you! All your comments have definitely inspired us πŸ˜‰

  4. March 25, 2010 09:10

    tehe I hate butter too, especially when they put it in sandwiches! ergh

    However, I do have lashings of it on my crumpets πŸ˜› (shame really but it just makes them taste good!)

    I’m loving the blogs, you didn’t tell me about this!! xx

Leave a Reply

