Skip to content

Cinnamon, Raisin and Walnut Bun

September 16, 2009

First off here’s the – basic recipe.

Dough:
1 cup lukewarm milk
2 eggs
80 soft butter
4 ½ cups (630 gr) flour
1 tsp salt
½ cup sugar (60 gr)
2 ½ tsp (10 gr) dry yeast or 30 gr fresh yeast

Filling:
80 gr soft butter
1 cup (200 gr) brown sugar
2 tbsp cinnamon

Gas mark 5

Most of my recipes come from food blogs. Before I discovered tastespotting, I would flick through my cookbooks, I only have about 3. The holy trinity of Jamie Oliver, Nigella Lawson and Delia Smith. But my favorite cookbook [well it’s not, it’s a book for hostesses with the mostess ;)] is by Amy Sedaris. It’s called I Like You: Hospitality Under The Influence. I LOVE Amy, she’s my ideal woman. She is just a winner in life. Her appearances on Letterman make my life oh so much better. I’m definitely gonna try out her cupcakes but not her famous cheese balls because well, you know why 😛

So this is my first recipe entry and the honour goes to the humble but flavourful cinnamon bun. This post will be a little photo heavy but it’s my first entry so bear with me. I may take less or more photos in the future if the recipe calls for it.

I made some obvious adjustments by adding raisins and walnuts and using only 90 grams [1/3 of a cup] of brown sugar but that’s what recipes are there for. In the words of Nigel Slater, they’re not the Ten Commandments and should be tinkered with to suit your own taste!

First off I measured out the dry ingredients and added them to a mixing bowl. I added the eggs first to the dry mix and then the softened butter [I added the semi-hard butter to bowl containing the milk to be warmed in the microwave, it saved me some time as the butter was not softened when I wanted to use it and the milk was getting warmed at the same time, result]

I mixed it roughly first with a fork before using my electric whisk. It saved my poor cheap electric whisk from actually dying on me. I think it’s terminally ill, it’s just a matter of time. I swear to Nigella that I will use some of my student loan money on a KitchenAid [well the “cheapest” one out there]

It should look like this.

Rough mixture
Use an electric whisk or whatever you have on you that’s powerful at whisking until it’s all mixed and the flour at the bottom of the bowl is mixed as well. The dough should be sticky and stretchy. Cover it with cling film like so and put it somewhere warm for the yeast to activate.

Cooking 002
Leave for 2 hours, that leaves you with enough time to do the washing up and then some. Oh what fun joy!

After 2 hours it should have doubled up in size. I love yeast for this very reason (I kinda love the smell too, shhh)
Cooking 003

Put the dough on a surface, covered well with flour. I used my red silicon baking mat. Leave to rest for 10 minutes.
Cooking 004

During that time you should turn on the oven, gas mark 5 which is 190°C. It’s also the time when you should assemble the filling. I had some green raisins in a packet that were nearly finished so I tried to be frugal and used them. I covered them with hot water to become nice and plump. Then I measured out the brown sugar. Some of the sugar hardened up so I had to crush them against my fingertips to separate them. My hands were nicely exfoliated by the end of the process. I roughly chopped some walnuts that were nearly finished, like the packet of raisins. I’m sure I’ve gotten my share of brownie frugal points. By now the 10 minutes should be up and it’s time to roll out your dough. Just roll it out to a thickness you’re comfortable with. I think I rolled it out until it was about 2mms thick but I didn’t like, measure it with a ruler or something…

Scatter the sugar on top, then the cinnamon, then the raisins and finally the walnuts.
Cooking 005

Now it’s time to roll it! Just take the longest side and roll it, remembering to pat it so the dough sticks to the filling. You’ll end up with a log shape. Pat the ends so there’s no dough hanging out.
Cooking 006

Now here comes the nifty bit. Take a long-ish length of thread and holding it tight with your fingers, indent the top. Again, it’s up to you how many times you wanna indent the top. If you want your buns thick, make few and thick indentations.
Cooking 008

Oh but the nifty-ness doesn’t end there! Oh no! Now it’s time to cut your buns. By using a piece of thread, your buns will turn out perfectly circular. If you use a knife the shape will be squashed and horrible. Here’s how to do it, take the piece of thread and put it under your log. Where the indentations are is where you should bring the thread up and cross it over so the dough is “cut”, your hands should be crossed over. When you cut the bun, your thread should straighten out again.
Cooking 009
See, the thread straightens out!
Cooking 010

This dough made about 20 thinnish buns. I did this on purpose so there’d be more left over. My first batch which I made a couple of days ago, finished in about 4 hours, a family record so far.
Cooking 011

Now it’s time to rest the buns for a further 20 minutes, they should get a bit bigger. Having the oven on helps this, especially when my kitchen is rather cool. Then when the time is up, it’s time to stick it in the oven! It should only take about 25/30 minute at most.

Enjoy with a cuppa 🙂
Cooking 013

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Aniek permalink
    September 17, 2009 04:43

    Is it too early to ask you both to marry me? I’ll go down on one knee and EVERYthing!
    I can’t wait for all the recipes to come! I love basically anything food wise, so I guess I’m gonna try everything 🙂
    And the cinnamon buns look delish!

  2. Aniek permalink
    September 17, 2009 07:38

    how now blind cow. sheehs.. reading comprehension fails me 🙂 sorry 😀

  3. camilia permalink
    September 17, 2009 08:04

    Looks delicious, hope I spelled it correctly :p

  4. Makini permalink
    September 17, 2009 11:49

    This is amazing Maz. I love the name :p Those sticky buns look delicious 🙂

    • Maz permalink*
      September 17, 2009 14:09

      My fellow Dinatard! So glad you like it! Love how Kristen found the exact pink shade as that of the Impossible is nothing shirt! 😀

  5. Kristen permalink*
    September 17, 2009 13:53

    Thank you for inspiring me to finally buy a silicone baking mat. I can’t wait to make these, but first I gotta tend to the plums as they are ripe & need to be used!

    • Maz permalink*
      September 17, 2009 14:30

      My flour sifter which I bought recently in Switzerland is my favorite new gadget.

Leave a Reply

