Skip to content

Cinnamon Bunz Redux

September 22, 2009

Cinnamon buns are, in my mind, just another vehicle for cream cheese icing. There are so many vehicles for cream cheese icing – carrot cake, spice cake, red velvet cake – but cinnamon buns are the ultimate. I won’t eat them with that crackly glaze stuff. Nope, give me real cream cheese icing or nothin’.

It’s not that I doubted the recipe Maz posted. I knew it would be great. It just suffered from a glaring lack of cream cheese icing. So I present cinnamon bunz redux, this time with cream cheese icing.

cinnamon rolls and ff 053

First, my observations on the making of the buns:

  • Flour surfaces generously. Including your hands. GENEROUSLY.
  • If you have a vintage 1970s Sunbeam Mixmaster hand mixer, I do not recommend using it to mix the dough. Unless you want to burn out the motor. In fact, I am amazed that your mixer did not give out, Maz. I abandoned the hand mixer and mixed the dough by hand. I thought of it as exercise.
  • For the filling, I used less butter. As I was spreading it out, I thought it looked a little obscene. Besides, I was using butter in the icing so it’s not like the buns suffered for a lack of butter!
  • Instead of spreading the buns out on a baking sheet, I put them side-by-side. Just a matter of preference.

cinnamon rolls and ff 022

Here’s the fun part- the cream cheese icing.

Ingredients:

1 cup of confectioners/icing sugar

1/4c / 4tbsp / 2 oz / 55g butter (half a stick), room temperature

4 oz / 110g cream cheese (half a brick), room temperature

1/2 tsp / 2.5ml vanilla extract

cinnamon rolls and ff 035

Mix all the ingredients together until well-mixed and fluffy. Spread over rolls right before serving! Store in refrigerator.

cinnamon rolls and ff 052

If you put this much cream cheese icing on your rolls, there won't be enough icing for all the rolls. And you will gain at least a kilo overnight.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Maz permalink*
    September 22, 2009 14:11

    Mmmmmmmmmmmm. It sucks that my family are so healthy! My dad told me the buns were too sweet hence the major lack of sugar the second time I cooked them.
    Actually the dough kept clogging up the hole where you insert the whisks so after I used it, I had to use a cocktail stick to fish the dough bits out! 😛

    • Kristen permalink*
      September 22, 2009 14:23

      Well I definitely need to strive to be healthier. But I usually eat 1 or 2 & then let my brother eat the rest! 🙂

  2. Victoria permalink
    September 25, 2009 18:12

    Oh my god I want to eat that so badly right now. May have to make these this weekend…. well done!

Leave a Reply

