Skip to content

Mama A’s Rice Pudding

September 27, 2009

I’ve been craving rice pudding for weeeeeeeks. This in turn made me into a whining 8 year old. I have no idea why but food either turns me into a food snob or a demanding 8 year old. I harassed my mum until she finally went into the store cupboard to see if we even had ANY rice to use ๐Ÿ˜› Thankfully we did, God forbid what I would’ve done if there weren’t any…

This is another Mama A recipe so she took over the kitchen momentarily [/roll eyes].

What makes this such a great recipe is that it will only take you 30 minutes to end up with a hot bowl of puddin’, provided you have a pressure cooker. Now I’ll start off by saying they scare the BEJUS out of me. They can be really loud!! Especially if they are new, you see they are so sensitive to any pressure build up, that it’ll keep going off every second. BUT that’ll soon die down, ahem.

Ingredients

550ml/ 2 1/2 cups Milk
400g/14 oz [I’m trying to remember. It sounds like a lot but each grain is rather heavy and I used what was left in the packet, sorry!] Pudding rice.
5 cardamom pods
10 tbsp granulated/caster sugar
300ml/ 1 1/4 hot water
Dash of double/heavy cream

Directions

  • Wash the rice thoroughly to get rid of the excess starch. You’ll know you’ve done a good job when you wash it one more time and the water is mostly clear.
  • Put the rice into the pressure cooker and add the hot water [I love my kettle, it does such a good job :D] Again my mum put however much water she thought would be appropriate so I have no idea if it is 300ml but as you can see it’s not a lot otherwise your pudding will not be nice, it’ll have too much liquid. I’ve tilted the pressure cooker to one side ๐Ÿ˜‰rice pudding 001
  • Put the lid on and turn the heat to medium and it should only take 10 minutes for the rice to get half cooked. FACT. This is what makes pressure cookers rule. They lessen cooking time by a lot.
  • After 10 minutes the water should be mostly absorbed [but not all, otherwise you’ll have to add more water to it] by the rice and should take on this appearance.

rice pudding 002

  • Now use a wooden spoon and mix, making sure the rice is not sticking to the bottom.
  • Add half of the milk and mix through and then add the rest.Then add the dash of cream, don’t use a heavy hand, I know it’s hard it is cream ๐Ÿ˜‰
  • Now is the time to crush the cardamom pods. Use a pestle and mortar. Now this is a homely dish so I put in the pods as well as the crushed seeds. Obviously you can’t eat it once the rice pudding is cooked but I couldn’t be arsed to pick the bits out of the pestle [or is it mortar? :P]

rice pudding 003

  • Add the cardamom and the sugar. Stir well.
  • Don’t put the lid back on, leave to cook for 15 minutes and voila! Now remember, once it heats down the mixture will thicken further so make sure you don’t cook it for too long, take a grain and taste it and make sure it still has a ‘bite’ to it. Otherwise once you put it into a container and it’s cooled down, it’ll be so thick it won’t move at all!!

rice pudding 013You will end up with aย  creamy, sweet and milky pudding ๐Ÿ™‚

I finished mine with a bit of nutella, blueberry jam and another dash of cream.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

