Skip to content

Roasted Fingerling Potatoes & Leeks

September 27, 2009

Another night at home, alone. I really enjoy having these silent evenings to myself. I played tennis for a long time today so I feel I deserve to be a bit lazy.

There’s food to be made and dishes to dirty in keeping with my plan for the weekend. I cranked up some classical music, cracked open a brew (Mt. Carmel Blonde Ale), and got to work.

To the sounds of Aaron Copland’s “Quiet City” and the soft patter of raindrops falling outside, I rinsed and chopped, mixed and sprinkled. Tonight was a night for comfort food to nourish my body and recharge my soul.

I got these really gorgeous multi-colored fingerling potatoes yesterday. I was just rambling through Jungle Jim’s and grabbing at all these different vegetables. I bought a leek too because they’re kind of my new thing. I knew I’d be roasting the potatoes, but I figured, why not roast the leek too? I pulled some rosemary from the garden and… dinner!

roasted potatoes 018

Ingredients:

1 lb (500g) fingerling potatoes – you don’t have to get pretty multicolored ones like me

1 leek

coarse salt

pepper

rosemary/thyme/dill/parsley – whatever you think is best

olive oil

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 375F/190C. Line a sheet pan and grease up with olive oil or non-stick spray.

2. Rinse potatoes, dab dry, remove any eyes or yucky bits, and cut on the bias to make medallions. Drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste, then toss to coat. Place on baking sheet.

roasted potatoes 029

3. Cut off root and dark green part of the leek. Cut it in half lengthwise and take off the outer layer. Rinse to remove sand and dirt between the layers. Then cut in half the other way to make smaller, bite-sized pieces (I left mine really big for some reason). Drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle with salt, and place on baking sheet.

roasted potatoes 040.1

4. Bake for 30-35 minutes, pulling the pan out after 20 minutes to stir the potatoes around and sprinkle with the herbs.

5. Let rest for 5 minutes, then serve with your choice of beverage. This serves probably 3-4 people as a side dish, and 2-3 people as a main dish.

I can’t believe how buttery these taste even though there is no butter. The leeks were good too, just for some flavor contrast. These would be really good as a side dish, maybe to roast chicken? Or you could dip them in an aioli.

What can I say? I like simple foods, simple things. Hopefully you’re just as easy to please!

roasted potatoes 048

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

