Skip to content

Apple Crisp

October 1, 2009

cookbook

Yes, that’s right. The Family Circle Dessert and Fruit Cookbook. This is a family treasure. The copyright date is 1954. That means it must have belonged to my grandmother, but I smuggled it out of my mom’s house a few weeks ago. I can’t explain why I love this cookbook so much. Is it the handy references in the front and back covers (a #303 can = 1lb = 2c)? The occasional truly odd combination of flavors (Coffee Marshmallow Mint Delight) ? The guide to different apple types and what they are best used for – baking, eating, canning (canning, folks!)?

It’s like, if you were a woman back then, this was essential knowledge. To be a proper wife and hostess you needed to know how to make soft custard, steamed pudding, and baked Alaska. There was no popping ’round the store to get a quart of ice cream; you had to make it yourself. Jello and powdered puddings were still a novelty. Reading these recipes makes dessert seem like such a luxury. Sometimes we need to remind ourselves of that, and savor it a little more instead of cramming it down our throats.

Hah! I crack myself up sometimes.

applecrisp 019

So this apple crisp is seriously a very simple dessert to make, and yet when I told my brother I was making it, he squealed. Have you ever heard a 6’2″ 275lb guy squeal because of apple crisp?! And my dad, never given to praising me too liberally, cannot stop talking about it. Did you know there’s apple crisp, Kristen? and it’s good? he keeps asking me. YES pops, I know. I’m awesome.

I know a lot of recipes for apple crisp frou-frou it up with oats and brown sugar and nuts. I think that’s ridiculous. Part of the magic of apple crisp is how butter, flour, and sugar come together to make a crunchy topping, and when you add all that other stuff it’s like cheating.

recipe

See? That’s seven ingredients and I am guessing you have all of them except maybe the apples, though if you are making this I bet you bought apples too!

If you have one of those fancy apple peeler-corer-slicer things from a certain housewares party, hey lucky you! I don’t have one, so I did this old-school…

applecrisp 011

Yes, I used my sous-chef, my little brother! No, seriously, he came to me asking if he could peel apples. What a legend! I suggest you try the same with your siblings. Offer up the apple peelings as a reward (we used to love them as kids). Use one of those corer-slicers where you push down on them to do the rest. I suck at using those things, they always get wobbly and I end up with core in the slices. Anyway, slice those slices up even more – just in half.

applecrisp 033

The orange juice sounds weird, I know. I think it’s the acidity that’s important. I don’t have orange juice at my house, and I wasn’t about to buy a carton when nobody will drink the rest, so I used lemon juice instead this time. However, I used a lot less… maybe 1/4 cup.  I also snuck in a little cardamom with the cinnamon. I know, I know, I profaned an ancient and sacred family recipe. I promise I won’t do it again, Mom!

applecrisp 043

I love when recipes tell you to cut in the butter. It’s really my favorite thing. If you have a food processor, just put your dry ingredients in, pulse, then drop in the butter and pulse again. Hey, was that fun? Not really, I bet. I know how to make it fun…

applecrisp 048

First, scrub your hands. Next, cut the butter up into smaller cubes and drop them in the dry ingredients (whisk the dry ingredients together first). Now, stick your hands in there and mash it all up. Break up the big pieces of butter. Isn’t this so fun?! Keep going until the mixture is crumbly like the directions state. Wash your hands well. I use an old toothbrush to scrub the butter from under my nails.

applecrisp 049

Spread over the apples, bake 45-60 minutes, yadda yadda.

Everyone knows how to serve apple crisp: warm with ice cream or cream. As you’re eating it, marvel at the wonder of science and thank your deity that we don’t live in the 1950s anymore.

applecrisp 065

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Momma permalink
    October 1, 2009 09:36

    One of my very favorite tried and true recipes, very easy and better than the modern versions that call for oats. Thanks for posting it.

    PS I want my book back!

  2. Maz permalink*
    October 1, 2009 11:26

    Oh wow, I love crumbles [I still call them crumbles, it’s an English thing sorry! :D] This looks so easy, yummy and good filling to topping ratio 😉

    • Kristen permalink*
      October 1, 2009 11:59

      LOL this book has recipes for apple brown betty, apple cobbler, apple crisp, apple crumble, and apple pan dowdy. All of which are different somehow.
      The best part is the topping part anyway, the apples are just an excuse to eat loads of it!!!

  3. Aniekie permalink
    October 2, 2009 13:49

    For a Dutchie (well at least for this one) this is pretty much a novelty!!
    But definitely one I’ll be using soon! What a wonderful dessert!
    (must remember to not make it when I’m home alone,cuz I fear I might just eat it all by myself :D)

  4. Maru permalink
    November 1, 2009 21:16

    I loved the recipe!
    I baked it last sunday and had to bake it this sunday too! My family loved it and a friend of mine ask for the recipe so I baked one for her and her husband as well.
    *waves at Kristen mom*

Leave a Reply

